The provincial government decided in 1973 to extend the boundaries and bring about the amalgamation of the three villages of Bridgedale, Gunningsville and Riverview Heights.  This was one of the partial answers to the recommendations of the inquiry by Senator Carl Goldenberg.  Both Dieppe and Moncton also enlarged their boundaries.  It was the intention not to use any of the existing names, so the name of the Parish was selected for the new town.

Elections were held on Monday, June 25th with amalgamation effective Monday, July 9th.  Harold Findlay became the first Mayor and seven Councillors were elected at-large.  A resolution to change the name to Riverview was passed on July 18th.  The Department of Municipal Affairs authorized the name of Riverview which was proclaimed May 22nd, 1974. Photocopies of these Certificates and members of the Council 1967-1986 may be found in the Appendices.

One troublesome matter was the fact that the new town would be responsible for the streets in the town.  It was in this decade that apartment blocks and town housing made their appearance. The lake, which was a product of the causeway, made the 'lakeside' area a 'natural' for new developments.  The Royal Canadian Mounted Police took on the policing of the new town on January 1st, 1974, under contract; their standards of competence coupled with good community relations has resulted in the Force playing a very positive role in Riverview.

The first town hall was located on Coverdale Road east of the Esso Service Station.  The Fire Hall was altered in 1975 to serve as a headquarters for the RCMP and the Fire Department moved into their modern building next door. Mr. George Hamilton, Town Clerk, designed a coat-of-arms which was accepted by the Town Council in 1978.  The same year Honour Court, a legacy of the Inter-Provincial Home for Women, became the Town Hall and the immediate area was laid off as a park.  Four Wards had been devised and in time, each Ward elected a councillor together with three councillors elected at-large. These seven councillors and the mayor sere three year terms.  The first lady councillor, Mrs. Flora Dell, was elected in a by-election in 1975. The election held May 112, 1986 saw three women elected as Councillors.  The Council operates on a committee system of municipal government.

In an interview with Laurie Armstrong in The Riverview Recorder in late 1980, Byron Dobson stated "I was born here (Albert County), lived here and I'm going to be buried here." In 1982 the last portion of that statement took place, and perhaps his greatest epitaph would be that accorded to Sir Christopher Wren, the architect of St. Paul's Cathedral in London, "If you seek his monument, look around you."

The highlight of the New Brunswick Bicentennial Year occurred on September 26, 1984 when Prince Philip, the Duke of Edinburgh, visited the Town to unveil the Cenotaph in Honour Court Square, and participated in its Dedication.

The Town of Riverview has a population of 14,907, based upon 1985 figures, the largest town and the fifth largest municipality in New Brunswick.  It has an area of approximately 12.25 square miles or 7,840 acres (in metric about 3,172.6 hectares) of which 100.3 miles (161.4 kilometers) represents streets.  In 1984 the tax base was $239,022,557 for a Warrant of $1,581,516, with the rate for local services $1.08 per one hundred dollars of assessment.

Impressive as such statistics are, these words from a long-time resident mean much more.  "We like Riverview and enjoyed raising our family here." Four decades of spectacular growth is cause for gratification; but there is a maturity that comes with experience and with such maturity the citizens of Riverview can accept the challenges of the Eighties and face the future with confidence.